The Iowa Society of Anesthesiologists is a statewide association for practicing anesthesiologists, providing membership information, links, legislative issues, newsletters and more. ISA is dedicated to the safety of Iowa's surgical patients.
ISA is a component society of the American Society of Anesthesiologists. ISA was incorporated in 1965 as a voluntary, non-profit association of physicians interested in the practice of anesthesiology.


Members Only

ISA Officers 

President: Christine Carstensen, M.D., Des Moines

President-Elect: Jay Diaz-Parlet, M.D., Hiawatha

Secretary-Treasurer: Sarah Titler, M.D., Iowa City

Past President: Jim Duong, M.D., Des Moines


ISA Directors

Patrick Allaire, M.D., Ames

Brian Bowshier, M.D., Des Moines

John Dooley, M.D., Davenport

Melinda Seering, M.D., Iowa City

Cynthia Wong, M.D., Iowa City

American Society of Anesthesiologists

Iowa District Director: Patrick Allaire, M.D., Ames
Iowa Assistant District Director: Melinda Seering, M.D., Iowa City

ISA Committee Chairs

Education Committee

  • Lovkesh Arora, M.D., Iowa City
  • Sung Kim, M.D., Des Moines

Medical Student and Trainee Engagement Committee

  • Dawn Dillman, M.D., Iowa City




What is Anesthesiology?

Anesthesiology is the practice of medicine dedicated to the relief of pain and total care of the surgical patient before, during and after surgery.

The education of today's anesthesiologists has kept pace with their expanding role in offering the highest quality health care available anywhere in the world. After completing a four-year college program and four years of medical school, they enter a four-year anesthesiology residency training program. Fellowships in an anesthesia subspecialty and in education or research may also be taken for an additional year.
JSN Epic template designed by